The Dunfermline Golf Club was founded in 1887 and has a rich history. The first course was in Halbeath, in the east of Dunfermline. It then moved to Ferryhills after only 3 years until 1929 when it moved to a James Braid course at Torrie. The final move to today's course at Pitfirrane was in 1953.
The magnificent Pitfirrane House is the historic home of the Halkett family since the 15th century and is a worthy clubhouse. The building is also spectacular inside with its medieval woodwork, Flemish stained glass and ornate plaster ceiling in the dining room.